Wood flooring trends 2027, according to the survey behind NWFA's 2027 Industry Outlook, point toward more demand for white oak, longer boards, matte sheen and factory-finished engineered planks. The people surveyed were NWFA members and magazine readers rather than Toronto homeowners, so this page checks each trend against what is on our shelves today: how wide the in-stock boards run, what top layer the engineered ones state, which species we carry and what six of them cost per square foot. The counts cover our engineered hardwood collection and our solid hardwood floors.
Quick answer: where the 2027 wood outlook meets our stock
All 144 solid hardwood floors we have in stock are narrower than 5 inches. Of the 61 engineered floors in stock, 42 are 5 inches or wider. On engineered boards the spec to read first is the top layer: 35 of the 61 state 2mm, 3mm or 4mm, and 26 state nothing at all.
What the 2027 outlook says about wood, and who was asked
The source is NWFA's 2027 Industry Outlook, published in Hardwood Floors magazine. It rests on an online survey of NWFA members and Hardwood Floors magazine readers. Read every percentage below as what that group expects to see more demand for, not as a poll of homeowners in Toronto or anywhere else.
- White oak. The outlook says white oak "remains a standout, with 52 percent of respondents expecting demand to increase in 2027."
- Longer boards and matte sheen. Among the features respondents expected more demand for were "longer boards at 50 percent, matte sheen at 48 percent."
- Factory-finished engineered. The outlook calls this flooring "gaining ground as well, with 45 percent of respondents expecting increased demand."
- Board width. One respondent serving the New York City market said customers are "consistently moving away from traditional narrow strips" and toward boards 5 inches and wider.
- Patterns. Sheoga Hardwood, a company quoted in the outlook, said it is seeing "growing interest in herringbone, chevron, and parquet." That is one company's statement, and our herringbone cost and installation post covers the pattern itself.
A second source speaks to width. For its 2027 Floor Forecast, Anderson Tuftex partnered with The Harris Poll to survey 512 high net worth homeowners and 251 interior designers in the U.S., and it reports that "homeowners are gravitating toward wide-plank flooring (43%)." Treat that as a direction from an affluent American sample, not a Toronto benchmark.
The survey's headline percentages and the all-material view sit in our post on what flooring will be in style in 2027, so this page stays with wood.
Board width: engineered goes wide while solid stays narrow
Width is where our stock splits most clearly. The table counts in-stock floors by the plank width written in each product title.
| Plank width in the title | Engineered floors in stock | Solid hardwood floors in stock |
|---|---|---|
| 7 inches or wider | 27 | 0 |
| 6 to 6 1/2 inches | 13 | 0 |
| 5 to 5 3/16 inches | 2 | 0 |
| 4 3/4 inches | 15 | 8 |
| 4 to 4 1/4 inches | 1 | 73 |
| 3 1/4 to 3 1/2 inches | 3 | 63 |
| Total | 61 | 144 |
Add the first three rows and 42 engineered floors are 5 inches or wider. In our solid range the widest board is 4 3/4 inches, and 8 floors sit there. A buyer who wants the 5-inch-and-wider look from the outlook is therefore choosing among engineered floors, and a shopper who prefers solid will be working with narrower boards.
The 7.5 inch plank is the most common single width in the engineered group, with 26 floors, and our 7.5 inch European oak guide goes through that format in detail.
Wear layer: reading the top layer on engineered boards
The wear layer is the visible hardwood surface of an engineered board. NWFA's refinishable-program document defines it this way: "Wear layer: The outermost layer of engineered flooring designed to be the visible side when installed." Thickness tells you how much wood sits in that layer. This is what the 61 in-stock engineered floors state:
| Top layer stated | Engineered floors in stock |
|---|---|
| 2mm | 9 |
| 3mm | 19 |
| 4mm | 7 |
| Not stated | 26 |
| Total | 61 |
Those 26 floors give no top-layer figure in their record or title, so we do not guess one here. If one of them interests you, ask us to confirm the figure before you compare it with the other 35.
NWFA built a program "to identify engineered wood flooring products with wear layers thick enough to be refinished." For factory finished products, it requires "a minimum wear layer thickness of 2.5mm." For unfinished products the program sets a minimum wear layer thickness of 3.2mm. These are program minimums, not a verdict on any floor in our range, but they give you a yardstick: a 3mm or 4mm top layer is above the 2.5mm line, and a 2mm layer is below it. We do not give a number of sanding cycles for any floor on this page.
Villa is one of the floors listed with a 3mm top layer, and our guide to engineered wear layer thickness explains what each step up means in daily use.
Species: white oak demand against what is on the shelf
The outlook names white oak as a standout, so we counted what our records say. These are the species fields of the in-stock floors:
- Engineered, 61 floors: oak 37, red oak 9, maple 7, white oak 3, hickory 2, species not stated 3.
- Solid, 144 floors: red oak 75, hard maple 30, oak 15, maple 8, white oak 2, other or not stated 14.
Two readings follow. First, only 5 floors across both groups carry the white oak label, so a strong white oak outlook does not translate into a deep white oak range here. Second, the species field says only "Oak" for 37 engineered floors and 15 solid ones, so the white oak count reflects what is labelled, not a judgment about the grain of the rest. If species matters to your choice, ask us to confirm it for the exact floor.
Our solid hardwood floors lean toward red oak and hard maple, which is why the solid comparison later on this page is a Canadian-made hard maple from the solid hardwood collection.
Longer boards, finish and sheen in the product records
Length is stated on only part of the engineered range. Of the 61 floors, 35 carry a full-length grade: 19 are listed as Ultra-Premium Planks (70% Full Length), 9 as Premium Mixed Planks (60% Full Length) and 7 as Classic Mixed Planks (40% Full Length). The other 26 state none. Our 70% full-length plank explainer covers how that grade reads on a long run.
Finish works the same way. In the finish field, 35 engineered floors list Wire Brushed and 26 list no finish. If you are weighing texture against visible wear, our comparison of wire-brushed versus smooth engineered hardwood takes that up.
For tone and colour direction on wood and vinyl, see our guide to flooring colour trends for 2027.
Sheen is where the outlook and our records part ways. Matte sheen is on the NWFA list, yet none of the 61 engineered titles or finish fields mentions matte, satin or gloss, and 21 of the 144 solid titles say Semi Gloss. We cannot tell you from the catalogue which floors are matte, so ask us to confirm the sheen of a specific floor before you order.
Six in-stock floors, priced today
Four 7.5 inch European oak floors, a 4mm version and a Canadian solid maple show what these choices cost per square foot. Price per square foot is the box price divided by the square feet in the box.
| Floor | Width and top layer | Box price | Sq ft per box | Price per sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Villa | 7.5 inch, 3mm | $83.31 | 19.42 | $4.29 |
| Natural | 7.5 inch, 3mm | $83.31 | 19.42 | $4.29 |
| Latte | 7.5 inch, 3mm | $83.31 | 19.42 | $4.29 |
| Sandbanks | 7.5 inch, 3mm | $83.31 | 19.42 | $4.29 |
| Cloud | 7.5 inch, 4mm | $93.02 | 19.42 | $4.79 |
| Lauzon Exclusive Hard Maple Kenya | 4 1/4 inch, solid | $99.80 | 17.0 | $5.87 |
Prices checked October 30, 2026. Box prices and coverage come from our current catalogue.
Villa, Natural, Latte and Sandbanks share one box price and one coverage figure, so the choice among those four comes down to the look you prefer in person. Villa is the first of them, shown here.
Sandbanks is the other 7.5 inch floor shown here. Like Villa it states a 3mm top layer and a 70% full-length grade, and its price is the same.
Cloud costs $9.71 more per box than Villa, which works out to $0.50 per sq ft, and it moves you from the 3mm group to the 4mm group. Our records also show the trade-off: Cloud is listed as Classic Mixed Planks (40% Full Length), while Villa, Natural, Latte and Sandbanks carry the Ultra-Premium grade at 70% full length. Within these six floors, taking the 4mm top layer means accepting a lower full-length grade.
The Lauzon Exclusive Hard Maple Kenya is the solid comparison. Its title reads 4 1/4 inch by 3/4 inch and Made in Canada, and at $5.87 per sq ft it costs $1.58 more per sq ft than Villa. All six floors list nail-down as the installation method, so check what is under your floor before you choose.
To pick a floor for each room, see our guide to the best flooring for 2027 by room.
Choosing engineered or solid with the outlook in mind
- You want boards 5 inches and wider: start with engineered, because that is where the stock is.
- You want to refinish later: read the top-layer figure first, compare it with the NWFA minimums above, and ask about the floors that state none.
- You want white oak specifically: confirm the species on the exact floor before ordering, since few records carry that label.
- You want a longer-board look: compare the full-length grade, and note that a thicker top layer and a higher full-length share did not come together in the Cloud and Villa pair.
- You prefer solid wood made in Canada: expect narrower boards, and look at the hard maple and red oak that dominate that range.
- You want a matte surface: ask for the sheen in writing, because the catalogue does not state it.
None of this replaces seeing the boards. Ask us to confirm the specs of any floor you shortlist, and set width, top layer, length grade and sheen side by side before you order.
Questions about 2027 wood floors
What is the newest trend in hardwood floors?
NWFA survey respondents expected more demand for factory-finished engineered boards, matte sheen, longer boards and white oak. Whether a particular floor fits that direction depends on its record, so compare width, top layer and length grade instead of relying on a label.
Is engineered hardwood replacing solid hardwood in 2027?
The outlook does not say that. It reports that 45 percent of respondents expect increased demand for factory-finished engineered flooring, which is an expectation about demand and not a forecast that one product will replace the other.
Who was surveyed for the NWFA 2027 outlook?
The report says that in partnership with NWFA, 3 Aspens Media conducted an online survey. Respondents were NWFA members and Hardwood Floors magazine readers, so it is an industry view and not a homeowner poll.
Does a thicker top layer matter for refinishing?
NWFA's program uses minimum thicknesses by finish type, which is why thickness is worth reading on a spec sheet. A single figure does not tell you how many times a floor can be refinished, so ask for the manufacturer's guidance on the exact floor.
Can I get a wide plank in solid hardwood?
Not from the solid floors in stock today. The widest solid title reads 4 3/4 inches, and wider boards are found among the engineered floors.
Get a wood flooring quote in Toronto and the GTA
Tell us the rooms and the look you want, and request a quote for the floor you choose.
Top Floorings Depot
3781 Victoria Park Avenue, Unit 1, Toronto, ON M1W 3K5
www.topfloorings.com
Call: 416-499-0117
Text: 416-770-8819